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MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:  N.C. Licensed Adult Care Home & Family Care Home Providers 

FROM: Megan Lamphere, Chief  
  DHSR Adult Care Licensure Section 
 
RE:   EXPIRATION of Waiver/Modification of Enforcement of Adult Care Home and Family Care 

Home Licensing Rules 10A NCAC Subchapters 13F & 13G granted pursuant to the authority in 
the 2022 Appropriations Act 

 
 
On July 7, 2022, North Carolina Session Law 2022-74 (the 2022 Appropriations Act), was enacted and included 
legislation for emergency flexibilities for certain facilities and services regulated by the Division of Health Service 
Regulation (DHSR). Section 9E.2.(b) added language to North Carolina General Statute § 131D-7, that granted 
authority to DHSR to temporarily waive any rules adopted by the Medical Care Commission pertaining to Adult 
Care Homes and Family Care Homes during a declaration of a public health emergency by the United States 
Secretary of Health and Human Services (“Secretary”).     
 
Pursuant to the authority vested in Section 319 of the Public Health Service Act, the Secretary determined that a 
public health emergency existed nationwide as a result of the consequences of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 
since January 27, 2020 (COVID-19 Public Health Emergency).  Former Secretary Azar renewed the 
determination on April 21, 2020, July 23, 2020, October 2, 2020, and January 7, 2021, and Secretary Becerra 
renewed the determination on April 15, 2021, July 19, 2021, October 15, 2021, January 14, 2022, April 12, 2022, 
and July 15, 2022. 
 
The following blanket waiver was issued by DHSR on August 9, 2022, pursuant to the authority granted in the 
2022 Appropriations Act.   
 

Personal Care Training and Competency. This extension remains in place, superseding 10A NCAC 
13F .0501(b) and 10A NCAC 13G .0501(b). Employees of adult care facilities who provide personal care 
or who directly supervise those who provide personal care shall now have nine (9) months after their date 
of hire to complete the 80-hour personal care training and competency evaluation program. However, 
facilities must still assure necessary supervision and on-the-job training for the employee, as provided in 
10A NCAC 13F .0501(d) and 10A NCAC 13G .0501(g), until such time as the employee has successfully 
completed the personal care training and competency evaluation program. Documentation of on-the-job 
training shall be maintained in the employee’s personnel record. 
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The August 9, 2022, Memorandum stated that the blanket waiver would expire at the end of the COVID-19 Public  
 
 
Health Emergency. The United States Secretary of Health and Human Services is planning for the federal Public 
Health Emergency for COVID-19, declared under Section 319 of the Public Health Service Act, to expire 
at the end of the day on May 11, 2023. 
 
The Personal Care Training and Competency blanket waiver will expire on May 11, 2023, consistent with 
the end of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency. Therefore, employees of adult care facilities who provide 
personal care or who directly supervise those who provide personal care hired on or before May 11, 2023, will 
have nine (9) months after the date of hire to complete the 80-hour personal care training and competency 
evaluation program. Employees of adult care facilities who provide personal care or who directly supervise those 
who provide personal care hired after May 11, 2023, will have six (6) months after the date of hire to complete 
the 80-hour personal care training and competency evaluation program in accordance with 10A NCAC 13F 
.0501(b) and 10A NCAC 13G .0501(b).  
 
Should you have any questions about this memorandum or need additional information, please contact Megan 
Lamphere, Section Chief of the Adult Care Licensure Section. 
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